## Wriggle Valley Tennis & Croquet Club Minutes of the 19<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held at the Yetminster Sports & Social Club Thursday 5<sup>th</sup> Jan 2023

The meeting was attended by a dozen members – all of whom indicated that they were in favour of receipt of further information / correspondence via Email.

Apologies for absence had also been received from Alan Guy; Claire Macleod-Ash; Mary Strover and Elizabeth Turnbull

The Chair – Antony Grattan-Cooper formally opened the meeting at 6:02, thanking all those who had turned out, and ensuring all had had sight of the Agenda and Accounts, set out on the tables before them.

The minutes of the previous (18<sup>th</sup>) AGM having been read through it was agreed that there were no items arising— other than those addressed in the officers' reports – that required attention, and so were duly approved.

The annual accounts having been presented, it was confirmed that these related to the period ending 31st December 2021 – due to the lateness of the calling of this meeting – and that those relating to the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> December 2022 were in the process of being finalised by the Chair/Treasurer. With a change of independent scrutineer having occurred during the year, the meeting agreed that, notwithstanding the fact that Graham Nutt is a member of the committee, he should continue to act as the scrutineer for these accounts, relying upon his discretion as to any conflicts of interest that could arise from their consideration. The Accounts were then formally accepted.

The Officers' reports concentrated on the future developments anticipated for the relocated site of the croquet lawns, and Andy Perlewski (as Chair of the Parish Council) was able to provide valuable updates as to timescales and potential costs for these developments, and provide re-assurance as to their determination to minimise disruption to players during 2023, particularly in regard to September / October when football matches would resume. Concerns were expressed in this regard, but all parties agreed to do their utmost to ensure the end of the croquet season would be able to be celebrated (with the traditional competition) in the customary manner, and expedite the changes needed to ensure the new lawns had sufficient time to 'bed in' before being used

The three retiring members of the committee (Graham Nutt; Justine Algar & Russell Jepson) having agreed to re-stand, and in the absence of other nominees, they were duly re-elected. With the retirement of the Secretary a further vacancy existed on the committee – Geoff Cowdrey was nominated and seconded, and warmly welcomed by acclamation.

It was also reported that Claire Macleod-Ash, a former Secretary, had agreed to take on the role following Andy Gatehouse's standing down. Her agreement to do so, was warmly welcomed by all.

The formal business of the meeting having concluded, the meeting was closed at 6:35pm